For me weekend is all about making dishes and filming makeup tutorial now. lol 😛 Though not every weekend I feel like doing tutorial but I never forget to try out new dishes! Few days ago, my husband’s friend gave us some Korean rice. Her grandparents had a good harvest of rice this year, so she shared some of them with her lab mates i.e friends. 🙂 It’s actually very kind of the Koreans, sharing their own harvest with people. 🙂

So, last Saturday, I though about making fried rice with Korean rice. Korean rice are kinda expensive, so we don’t usually buy them. But they have a different good taste for sure. 🙂 And the day before that, I mean Thursday, I was browsing through youtube, than I found this tutorial by Food-wish, about Greek Lemon Chicken & Potato. Seemed quite easy, yet kinda different from what you see always, so I thought I should try it too. And another fact is, I have a thing for oven baked chicken. lol :p Anyways,  few days ago I bought a fish, a Flat fish, which is very common in the marts here. So, I though of making something with it too. Thinking of what I should do, suddenly I felt like I should do it in pure Bangladeshi way. 😉 So, there comes Bangladeshi style flat fish dopiaza!

Let’s take a look of the combo, shall we? 😉

15972672_1329538230399739_8663793150655943746_o

So, let’s start with Korean fried rice! The specialty of Korean rice is, it is kinda sticky. So, when you want to make fried rice with it, you need to make sure that, there’s no stickiness. The trick is, at first boil the rice with some water for 5-7 minutes and then drain off the water. While draining wash it again with cold water so, the stickiness will go away.

And here’s what you need for boiling:

  1. 3 cups Korean rice
  2. Water (as required)
  3. some yellow food color
  4. Cloves
  5. Cardamom
  6. Salt

And these are for fried rice:

  1. Butter/ Margarine
  2. Oil
  3. Carrot 1 (medium sized) (chopped in to tiny pieces)
  4. Onion 1 (large sized) (finely chopped)
  5. Egg
  6. Green pepper
  7. Salt

First boil the rice for 5-7 minutes with above mentioned ingredients. The rice won’t be cooked full this way, so it’s okay if they feel hard. Next, heat your pan with oil. You may need to put more oil, as it require usually. Add onion, carrot & egg. Later add salt and pepper. Now add the rice and put butter over it. Now cover it tightly and cook it in a low heat for 20-30 minutes. Try not to take off the lid for once while cooking. Your rice is ready and you can serve it now! ❤

Now Greek Lemon Chicken! Well this is the easiest chicken recipe you will ever try, I swear! 😛

Here’s what you need:

  1. Freshly squeezed lemon juice
  2. Oil
  3. Black pepper
  4. Rosemary (I used fresh ones, and trust me it made the chicken even more better)
  5. Salt
  6. Potato
  7. Chicken Breast
  8. Onion

I didn’t really used any measurement here. Just add however you want. Take everything in an ovenproof dish and mix everything really well. Keep it like this for 15minutes. Now bake it for 30 minutes at 180 degree Celsius. I used a halogen oven by the way. It may require more time in a convention oven.

At last, Flat Fish dopiaza. Piaz or peyaj means Onion in Bengali. So, while making fish dopiaza you need to put lots of onions. There are may ways of making this dish, I tried in my own way. Maximum Korean fishes are  sea fish, so they are very soft on the outside. When you put them in hot oil, their skins often gets scattered in the pan.  So, if you want to fry them always use some flour with spices while marinating. This creates a coating outside, and don’t let the hot oil ruin it’s skin.

  1. Red chili powder
  2. Coriander
  3. Cumin
  4. Turmeric powder
  5. Flour
  6. Salt
  7. Black pepper (very little amount)
  8. Garlic paste
  9. Ginger paste
  10. Oil
  11. Water
  12. Green chili
  13. Onions

First, clean the fish and mix it with chili-coriander-cumin-turmeric powder, flour and salt. If it feels dry, add little bit of water. Just to mix evenly. And now, heat your pan with oil and put the fish. Fry well on both sides. Take it off from oil. Now put onions and garlic-ginger pastes. After 2minutes add chili-coriander-cumin-turmeric powder, black pepper ad green chili. Add salt and some water. Now add fish. The fish, I used to make dopiaza, had laid eggs inside. Another common thing about traditional fish eating habit of Bangladesh, we eat the fish eggs too. There are even separate fish egg dishes in Bengali recipe book too. I don’t know if other countries also eat fish eggs like this, so forgive me for my ignorance. Anyways, you do not need to fry them with flour coating with the fish. Just put them while cooking with onions. Cook in a low to medium heat. After 10-15 minutes turn over both the fish and eggs and cook for another 10-15 minutes. Your dopiaza is ready!

So, that’s all about today! I hope you enjoyed the post! :*

Munira Chowdhury, 17/01/17

